A Season of Cheer (hurrah in a sarcastic tone)

A new holiday is approaching but I do not feel like celebrating.

There’s so much goodbye around me. The house is silent without the ring of Faith’s laughter. Her mother had gone to live with her new boyfriend and took Faith with her.

Added to this, a friend of mine is resigning from work.

At home, I’ve half-heartedly set up the Tree for this season, yet I only managed to  decorate it with a few silver cords and a couple of turtle doves, which Tate and I had placed together.

I catch myself musing how it would be like if I were in New York right now preparing for the holidays with my relatives. I’ve seen my cousin, Robee’s latest photos, and I should say that she has grown prettier over the years, very far from the rumpled kid who loved cream of corn soup I used to know…

Tate doesn’t feel like celebrating either. He avoids sitting near the tree whenever we are in the living room. His sister’s impulsive decision has really hurt the Family.

Funny that the office administration finally decided to jump into the festivities bandwagon. Yet as usual, it is with their bumbling sense of coordination. Indeed, a Tree has been put up in the downstairs lobby. Completely festooned with blue lights, blue flowers and silvery-blue balls. So much for a mood-lifter.

Leave a Reply

