addled soup

20 January 2007

The drizzles have already quit their tiptap outside the window. It had rained a little bit before dusk. I looked out and was overjoyed to see a water-color sunset. Rich tones of magenta and purple and pink and blue and cream splashed across the piece of sky I could see out of my glass enclosure.

Glad Tsar’s back although she still looked quite run over after staying up several nights in a row looking over her son who’s in the hospital because of some stomach bug. Poor kid. And Tsar is near frustration as the doctors can’t seem to correctly identify what my friend’s son’s got in his tummy. Despite her worries, Tsar has to come to work lest she loses her job. (a bit of gripe: There isn’t someone who’s good in this country anymore. All fine minds have flown overseas and we are left with rotten ones to take charge of our health. I don’t trust doctors that much anymore.)

Have finished an e-book sent over by Lurchie, who received it from Olive who received it from ???. (friend of a friend of a friend…) It’s “The Undomestic Goddess”. Chic lit, yeah. But it’s more fun than all the surfactant-genomes-international policies on trout fishing-rat DNA-neuropsychology porridge I subsist on at least eight hours a day (if I am not tardy) six days of the week (if i do not do OT on sundays).

Back to the e-book. I did like the story. Yet, this Sophie woman made a small sting on my Filipino pride, though. It’s probably unconscious on her part when she had chosen Trish and Eddie’s former househelp to be from the Philippines. But, ah well, can’t really complain and pretend to be from a nation of noble blood and royalty.

But I did smile as I read through the entire thing because like me, Samantha (main character) ended up with “the gardener”. The ending really bouyed me. Aieeee. Am still floating slightly. Starry eyed and happy with the world (others may have wondered where my angst went — it’s just in the backburner, being kept warm).

An aside, Tata is nearly finished with our driveway landscaping. Has installed another pond just right by the gate’s entrance. We might have the house blessing in the summer. Hyacinth’s posed a challenge for him to have made a sweeping walkway towards the “pagoda” the next time she comes for a visit. You might just get your
wish, Hyacinth!

The sky’s just turned dark purple. My break’s over. Am off slogging again.

Stuff I owe Lurchie…

5 things a lot of people might not know about me

1.I cry over stories of self-discovery

2.I had myringotomy and tonsilectomy when i was little

3.I observe other passengers when I commute and think up stories about their backgrounds, depending on their appearance

4.Before college, I once wrote to enrol in an overseas journalism school but that plan didn’t push thru. yet until now am still receiving enrolment application forms for every semester of their school year

5.I don’t like brand-name dropping when it comes to clothes. Bags, yes, it’s ok, but
not clothes.

10 things I would never do

oh my, i’m not really good at speaking with finality. so maybe, i could just twist the criteria a bit for the first five entries…

10 things I would never do…again

1.play strip poker in a friend’s house. i did this once and i don’t want to relive the experience of fielding uncomfortable questions from a friend’s parents again.

2.prolong my anger. i did this and regretted everything after because the one i was angry with was very dear to me and i carried this grouchy vibe for some time until it was too late to make ammends because the person had died.

3.kiss a random guy. err? i guess i didn’t know how to spell ‘trouble’ then.

4.make insinuations about some dead president’s body as just some wax sculpture. i did this in vigan and nearly got myself lynched.

5.splurge on nonsensical stuff i still can’t explain the multitudes of measuring cups scattered all over the house. i don’t even know how to bake

Okay, so, here are some stuff I think would never do in this lifetime

6.give up my writing and sketching. would this qualify as two things? i can go without sleep but not without writing or drawing something.

7.use my powers for evil. harharhar

8.abuse my friend’s trust there’s a few of them and i don’t wanna lose any

9.stop learning something new how staid is that?!

10.ignore the feelings of my family in making big decisions my family comes first.

(I’ll tag some people later)

Leave a Reply

