A few years ago, a family friend residing in Hawai…

A few years ago, a family friend residing in Hawaii sent us prayer cards. I’ve been rummaging through some stacks of paper that were sitting on the bottom part of the closet. One copy of the prayer card was in those stacks. The prayer was written in a gentle but strong voice… and it still touched me and made me want to take action.

I’m sharing the prayer here.

Prayer for the Decade of Nonviolence for Children[1]

February 26, 2003

I bow to the sacred in all creation.

May my spirit fill the world with beauty and wonder.

May my mind seek truth with humility and openness.

May my heart forgive without limit.

May my love for friend, enemy and outcast be without measure.

May my needs be few and my living simple.

May my actions bear witness to the suffering of others.

May my hands never harm a living being.

May my steps stay on the journey of justice.

May my tongue speak for those who are poor without fear of
the powerful.

May my prayers rise with patient discontent until no child is
hungry.

May my life’s work be a passion for peace and nonviolence.

May my soul rejoice in the present moment.

May my imagination overcome death and despair with new possibility.

And may I risk reputation, comfort and security to bring
this hope to the children.

[1]The United Nations has proclaimed 2001-2010 to be the “International Decade for the Culture of Peace and Nonviolence for the Children of the World.” Mary Lou Kownacki, OSB, wrote this prayer for this special observance at the request of Pax Christi USA. This prayer is found in the book, The Nonviolent Moment: Spirituality for the 21st Century, published by Pax Christi USA.

Leave a Reply

