Thoughts sparked by a note

When I got in for work this morning, I found a note pinned to my workstation and it said:

“There is no paycheck that can equal the feeling of contentment that comes from being the person you are meant to be. ~Oprah Winfrey”

Jasmine said she found the note under her workstation and felt that it’s fitting to be pinned along with my other inspirationals so she did the honors.

The handwriting on the note matches my friend Sara’s and I think she had found this while trawling through the net yesterday when I’ve already gone home.

I could not think of a more appropriate slogan for my present predicament than what the note, or Oprah, says.

It would be very unfair if I stay in a working environment where I feel that what I know and I believe in are incongruous with what I do each day…

I feel guilty because of my unproductivity these past weeks and I’ve finally hit upon the answer to the “Why?”. My present job is not what I wish to be still doing three, five, or ten years hence. It’s the main reason why I have tendered my resignation almost a month ago.

When I did hand over the white envelope with my exit note with the eccentric reason of being offered a job which makes it possible for me to work with less-fortunates and which is in line with my principles and beliefs, my sup asked if I had leverages, thinking that I am just another dissatisfied rank and file. I said I had none. With a shake of his shaggy head, he said that my goal, if categorized in Maslow’s heirarchy of needs, already resides in the tip of the pyramid — the self-actualization bit. That he cannot stop me from going.

And going I am. In three more days I’m outta here.

Okay, Oprah, let’s see what it is to be what I’m meant to be.

4 comments

  1. What work I have done I have done because it has been play. If it had been work I shouldn’t have done it. Who was it who said, “Blessed is the man who has found his work”? Whoever it was he had the right idea in his mind. Mark you, he says his work–not somebody else’s work. The work that is really a man’s own work is play and not work at all. Cursed is the man who has found some other man’s work and cannot lose it. When we talk about the great workers of the world we really mean the great players of the world. The fellows who groan and sweat under the weary load of toil that they bear never can hope to do anything great. How can they when their souls are in a ferment of revolt against the employment of their hands and brains? The product of slavery, intellectual or physical, can never be great.
    – Mark Twain

  2. ah lurch… what mark twain said is true.

    at first, too, i thought i had it made because i worked with words, words, and more words every god-given day in this joint. yet… you know… maybe this is a glimpse of what is ahead.

    thank you for everything.

  3. goodluck on your new adventure…each one of us has to fulfill a certain need deep within us…i found that job fulfilling once and i loved it…but i am happier now and i hope you become happier too…though my need is different from yours, its good that we are both on the way to fulfilling those needs.

Leave a Reply

