Water over wine

This is one of those rare rants about a particular individual. I’ll call her Miss Guided Muffet.

Before I get further, allow me to set the theme for this drivel. I grabbed this quote off Sara’s blog and this hit right home regarding what Miss Guided Muffet is trying to do with her life:

Often people attempt to live their lives backwards;
they try to make more things, or more money,
in order to do more of what they want, so they will be happier.
The way it actually works is in reverse.
You must first be who you really are,
then do what you need to do,
in order to have what you want. — Margaret Young

I am not familiar with with Miss Guided Muffet’s personal history but I have a basic idea of where she’s coming from in the few times she bugged graced my life with her presence. The first thing that immediately called attention to her person is the fact that she seems to be so attached to what people are wearing, what they are driving and what they are ingesting. Miss Guided Muffet has a really attractive habit of ooh-ing and aah-ing over anything that spells M-O-N-E-Y and/or W-E-A-L-T-H.

In a way, there is nothing wrong with climbing up ladders; as my former Economic Anthropology professor used to say,

Men (and women, too) are by nature, social climbers.

Everyone aims for upward mobility, and all the more in this commercialized era.

However, in Miss Guided Muffet’s case, she has failed to grasp the notion that not all that glitters is gold. And not everything that comes in ordinary brown packing paper are useless, worthless trash. (I sound so angry but I don’t wonder why)

She makes snide comments about people who, to her standard, are just worthless shit. She makes it a point to associate with only the elite of this town, that two years back was still considered to be in the Middle Ages of advancement, she calls home, hoping that, in many ways, the persons’ wealth and prestige may rub off on her. And because she has come to a point where she is already someone of worth, at least in her own perception, she has made it her personal crusade to be condescending and patronizing to those unenlightened madlang people, the unenlightened poor ones.

Ugh! ugh!

I could’ve tolerated her attitude if she have not crossed me personally. It has something to do with vintage and her telling me what could intoxicate and what could not. In the sad state of the affairs I didn’t have the strength to at least offer a rebuttal for the poor insecure chit that she was whose greatest hope for the evening was to be praised by the alpha male of the group for her sniveling ways.

In many ways, I pity her. Misguided idiot who can’t tell the sincere from the faux… may she find what she’s looking for.

For her attitude, I’d give her a rating of 5 stepladders

3 comments

  1. Right on! I know its crazy but I’m cheering for you. We feel the same way. Don’t worry though, you did not go over the top 🙂

  2. mics…i’m thinking of shutting down wordpress and transferring everything to multiply…i’m a blog nomad…this is getting crazy!

Leave a Reply

