Forty-eight hours of craziness (3rd part)

8 May  2007, Tuesday

I did a stint as an ESL teacher for two days. Then I quit the job.

I couldn’t stomach it.

It took all i had to maintain a straight face at the korean brother in law when he asked me why i disappeared quickly from the scenes.

Can i really tell him that i didn’t like the filth and the heat and the fact that there was a “Cockroach Killing Diary” posted on the bulletin board? And that I feel it was a great injustice that there was poster taped to the airconditioning grilles saying “Aircon should be turned on from 7 am to 7 pm only. 600 pesos charge when used after the hours specified”. Oh, and the fact that I felt it was unfair because part timers are not allowed to have breaks. Hey, even the place where I used to work was humane enough to entitle their workers to have half an hour off when they’ve already rendered four hours.

I guess I could. But I chose not to.

I could go on with so many more reasons.  But I chose not to.

And the book is closed on that.

They could have the four hundred and eighty pesos I’ve earned for two days’ work. It couldn’t reimburse the money i spent on toiletries, food, and fare to go there. Nevermind that those people there think I lack ambition because I cannot sacrifice and I cannot wait until my salary is increased.

They’ve truly misjudged me. It was really not about the money why I agreed to be there. And it still wasn’t about the money why I left…

One comment

  1. “History has demonstrated that the most notable winners usually encountered heartbreaking obstacles before they triumphed. They won because they refused to become discouraged by their defeats” (Bertie C. Forbes).

    Love you mics…rock on!

Leave a Reply

